What is gluten-free beer?
The traditional recipe for beer uses barley and wheat, both of which contain gluten. Brewing with alternative grains such as sorghum, rice or corn results in a gluten-free beer that can still be just as satisfying as the traditional formula.
Gluten is a protein found in foods containing wheat and other related grains, such as barley and rye. Gluten gives bread its lovely chewiness, but it also causes major intestinal distress in folks who have celiac disease or are allergic to gluten.